How do I create and manage meetings in Google Calendar?


This document covers how to create a meeting (or other event), add participants, and set permissions and visibility.


Creating your meeting
To create a meeting, go to the Google Apps calendar by logging in to Google Apps and clicking Calendar from the apps grid in the upper right. Then,

  1. Find the day that you want to create the event. Using the Week view is the easiest. You can change your view by using the menu at the top of the calendar window.
  2. Double-click on the time on that date that you want the meeting to begin. For example, if the meeting is scheduled for Friday, June 26 at 10:30 am, click the box that corresponds to 10:30 on that date. This can be changed later.
  3. You will then see the pop-up for the meeting as shown below. Enter the title of the meeting in the box that says "Untitled event." Select the Calendar where you want to add your event from the drop-down menu (usually your default calendar with the same name as your user ID).
  4. In the "Event details" screen, set the begin and end time for your meeting, add a location, and enter a description, set a repeat meeting, add participants, set permissions, etc.
  5. click "Save" at the top of the screen.
  6. When you click "Save," you can get back into the event to update that information by clicking on the meeting in your calendar.


Setting up repeating events
If your event occures daily, weekly, or otherwise repeats, you can set that in your Google calendar as follows:

  1. If you’re not already on the event details screen, click the name of the meeting on the calendar to access that screen.
  2. From the event details screen, click the box next to the "Repeat..." option under the begin and end time. The options box below will pop up.

3. Click "Done" when finished.


Adding participants to an event/meeting
The biggest benefit to using Google Apps calendaring is that it can enroll, notify/invite, and track participants for your meetings. To do so, go to the event details screen, and click on the “Add guests” section at the right. Add your participants’ e-mail addresses, separated by commas. They do not need to be Carthage addresses. You can add more participants later if needed. As you type, auto-complete will suggest names, just as it does in Google email.

Once you add your guests, check or uncheck the appropriate boxes below the list. For example, you may not want the guests you specify to be able to invite others to your meeting.

After you have added guests, you can see which ones should be able to attend your event based on their Google calendars. To do this, click the “Find a time” tab above the "Where" (Enter a location) box near the middle of the screen. A pop-up will show the calendars for that date and time for the various participants in your meeting. A solid bar will mean that the person is unavailable. You can then scroll through the days and times to find a more suitable time for your meeting.

When finished, click "Save." When you click "Save" after adding participants, you will be asked if you want to email to the participants to notify them of the event. If you click "Yes," each participant will get an invitation to your meeting. When they accept, the event will be added to their Google calendar. No matter how they respond, their response (or lack thereof) will be tracked in your Google event. 

You can also correspond with your participants later to send reminders, and so on. To do this,

  1. Click the "Email guests" link shown at right of the "Add guests" section of the event details screen.
  2. Choose if you want to send the e-mail to those who said Yes, No, Maybe, or didn’t respond by checking the corresponding boxes.
  3. Enter the Subject and contents of your message in the appropriate spaces.
  4. Click the "Send" button to send your message.


Setting permissions and visibility
You can control who can see or modify your entire calendar as well as specific events. We encourage all Carthage users to make their calendars “public” so that other people scheduling meetings can see if they are busy or not. You can set the privacy of your entire calendar as follows:

  1. Click the "Settings" (gear) icon in the upper right hand corner of your calendar.
  2. Choose "Settings" in the drop-down menu.
  3. Choose the "Calendars" link on the menu on the top of the page. To the right of a calendar's name, click the link that may say “Shared: Edit Settings.”
  4. The calendar sharing screen will be displayed.
  5. Check the box labeled "Share this calendar with others."
  6. Unless you want anyone in the world to be able to view your calendar, uncheck “Make this calendar public.”
  7. Check “Share this calendar with everyone in the organization Carthage.”
  8. Next to that option, in the drop-down box, select the option that you prefer. We recommend “See only free/busy (hide details)” so that people can see that you are unavailable but not necessarily know the details of your events.
  9. Below that, if appropriate, you can designate specific individuals to be able to see event details. You might use this to allow your supervisor, a colleague, or a family member to see calendar details. Some people may want to designate another person (such as their administrative assistant) to be able to make changes to their calendar.
  10. When finished editing these settings, click "Save."


Besides the general privacy settings for a calendar, you can also set the privacy for a specific event or meeting. In the "Event details" tab, choose your event privacy setting at the bottom of the screen based on the descriptions below:

Default
Select this option if you want the event's privacy setting to mimic the calendar's privacy setting. If your calendar is private, for example, all of the events scheduled are private by default. The same concept applies to public calendars. The following two options allow you to control the visibility of specific events on public, private, and shared calendars.

Private
For public or shared calendars, select this option to make sure only you and other calendar owners (those with 'Make changes to events' privileges and higher) can see the event and its details.

Public
This option will make the event's details available to those with free/busy access to your calendar. If you're sharing your calendar's free/busy information with a specific person or with the world, this setting will enable them to view all of the details for the specific event. Selecting this option won't make the event's details available in public search indexes.

 

Tags: Google
2014-10-14 16:51 smueller2 {writeRevision}
Average rating: 0 (0 Votes)

You cannot comment on this entry

Chuck Norris has counted to infinity. Twice.

Records in this category

Tags

Sticky FAQs