Process for Faculty/Staff Returning iPads

Richard LaHue
2016-11-07 21:17

In order for iPads to be re-used after a faculty or staff person returns them, three things need to happen:

  1. The user MUST sign out of iCloud.
  2. The user MUST remove their passcode.
  3. The user MUST erase all content and settings on their iPad.

This article details the process for doing each of those tasks. Faculty/staff persons must complete the above before returning their iPad to LIS (via Carol or Richard).

Signing out of iCloud

  1. Open up the Settings app.
  2. In the left column, scroll down to iCloud.
  3. In the right column, scroll down to Sign Out & tap it.
  4. It will ask you to confirm. Tap Sign Out again when asked.
  5. For every service you were signed into (Notes, Reminders, etc.), the iPad will ask if you want to keep its iCloud data stored on the iPad, or just delete it. Choose Delete from My iPad every time you're prompted.
  6. You will be asked if you want to delete your account from the iPad. Tap Delete from My iPad.
  7. You will be prompted to enter your Apple ID password to turn off Find My iPad. Enter your iCloud password, then tap Turn Off.
  8. You're done with this part of the process.

We cannot retrieve your iCloud password for you. It is your responsibility to know your passwords. If you have forgotten your iCloud password, follow this link and Apple will start the password reset process with you: Apple ID | Having trouble signing in? Not signing out of iCloud on the iPad Carthage provided you is NOT an option. The iPad belongs to the college, and you must sign out of iCloud before we can repossess and repurpose it.

Removing the iPad Passcode

  1. If you closed the Settings app, open it again.
  2. In the left column, scroll up to Passcode and tap it.
  3. Enter your passcode.
  4. In the right column, tap Turn Passcode Off.
  5. You're done with this part of the process.

Erasing the iPad

  1. If you closed the Settings app, open it again.
  2. In the left column, scroll to General and tap it.
  3. In the right column, scroll down to Reset and tap it.
  4. In the right column, tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Tap Erase when prompted.

When the iPad restarts, it's good as new, and you're done with the process. You can now return the iPad to LIS (via Carol or Richard), along with the iPad's charger, charging cable, any keyboard case that we provided you, and any other iPad accessories we provided you.

Article last updated on 2016-11-07 by Richard

Average rating: 0 (0 Votes)

You cannot comment on this entry